Contracts

Affordable Lawyers to Review Contracts San Francisco

Alison Lewis CEO/Creative Director

December 12th, 2013

We've got a great start-up lawyer, but can't afford their rates for some of our contract reviews and NDAs coming from partners. $450/hour isn't possible even with revenue at this time. 

Is there any agency or place we can get help or find affordable support through this wonderful but costly moment? 

Thank You. 
Alison 

reed hearon

December 12th, 2013

Hi Alison,
There are some great, free online resources for startups
try:
free: http://www.orrick.com/Practices/Emerging-Companies/Pages/Startup-Tool-Kit.aspx

pay, but much cheaper than a lawyer
https://www.clerky.com/

also: https://venturedocs.com/

Much of the work for a startup can be done yourself. Use a good lawyer, via email, to answer specific questions and when you need complicated contracts reviewed. Good luck!

Reed

Robert H Lee

December 12th, 2013

I use Derek Yu for all my startup work, including inc, financing, and general stuff. He used to work at a big firm, and now charges a lot less on his own. Derek Yu http://www.corporateestatelaw.com/ Regards, Robert Lee Startup Consultant & Investor at SV Accelerator: SVaccel.com Entrepreneur-in-Residence at Stanford: codeX.stanford.edu ∩ of Technology & Adventure: facebook.com/HolokaiAdventure @goldspruce, linkedin.com/in/robertlee1 +1.510.427.2049 - California

Lona Duncan

December 12th, 2013

Same here Derek Yu.  $260/hr


Ed King Turn good ideas into great products

December 12th, 2013

Alison, Check out Karen Frame (LinkedIn: http://goo.gl/MMlZQ0) She is based out of Boulder and her rates are in the $200 range. One of my startup CEO friend used her for the first 2 years of his startup until they got big enough to have in-house council. She is especially good with contracts and NDAs. I interviewed her over the phone and liked her quite a bit. I intend to use her myself for upcoming contract work. Ed King Founder & CEO OPENPRISE Check out our latest blog: Third-party performance measurements for Cloud and API ed.king@openprisetech.com www.openprisetech.com @openprisetech Mobile: 408-829-2641

Travis Workman Founder/President at Cognisoft

December 12th, 2013

Alison - I worked with a guy who lives in Utah but is licensed to do business in SF if I am not mistaken he owns the law firm Salcido law. You can see their site here: http://www.salcidolaw.com/ his name is Chris Salcido and he is a magnificient attorney and even has some investments into various technology firms so he is very savy in business and contract law. I would look them up adn contact them as I use them for several types of business and I have been through many law groups and his blows them out of the water. I am not affiliated with them in any way just really enjoyed the level of service they provide. so I wanted to make you aware of them. Thanks,

Anonymous

December 12th, 2013

100% focus on start-ups and believe in fixed fees: http://walkercorporatelaw.com/

Jason Oliver Founder and Technology & Product Executive

December 12th, 2013

I've used John Hou for years on startups - he can be very reasonable.

Phone Number: (415) 480-0369


e-mail: john@houvillery.com 

Keiran Betteley

December 12th, 2013

Are you sure you need a lawyer to review contracts? Depends what the contract is for, if it's central to your business maybe not, but it might be worth having a think about what your likely exposure is and look through the contract in detail yourself. Pick out anything you either don't understand or that doesn't sound right, and do some research to check that it's fair. Have to say that I'm used to the UK legal system so perhaps it's different in the states. Keiran

Kym McNicholas TV Host, Tech Jounalist, Director of Extreme Tech Challenge, Host of KDOW Radio's NewFocus On Innovation

December 12th, 2013

Roger Royse... Royse law. Amazing! Sent from my iPhone

Mona Sabet

December 12th, 2013

Try Tal Castro - he will do $200/hour or less depending on the work and is also open to fixed fee.  http://talclaw.com/attorney/